One Year Anniversary

This is the one-year anniversary of my departure from Virginia.  It is my longest continuous and cumulative absence from my home state–the Old Dominion.

region-shenandoah-big
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia

I left Virginia last year in early October.  I was following a spiritual calling in a journey that began in 2010.  The calling came in 1970.  The attempt to follow and satisfy it began 38 years later.  8 years ago I took up the long ignored call.  Why did it take 38 years to begin?  That’s another story for another time.

So I followed the call in Virginia for 7 years, and then I left–12 months ago.  I spent a month in Arizona; then another month in Nevada.  The entire time, I was in the street, homeless.  This is nothing new.  I’m homeless now for four years.

Now here I am in southwest Florida on the Gulf Coast.  I accidentally fell under the umbrella of the Veterans Administration.  I am living now, one year out of Virginia, in an apartment but I am still technically homeless.  Maybe I’ll explain how that works sometime.  I have no lease and am pretty much at the mercy of the V.A. and Volunteers of America.

Florida Everglades
Florida Everglades

It could be worse/  I could be trying to stay out of the rain and on the lookout for two and four legged alligators.  I am sheltered, semi-secure, and eating regularly.  The bad news is the call has taken second-place to shelter, security, and food.  Believe me, I’m living in the relative Lap of Luxury compared to Nevada, Arizona and the wilds of Virginia.

I still feel the Spirit’s call.  I’d love to do God’s will from the comfort and peacefulness of a house or apartment.  Perhaps this is what I am transitioning into even as I write these words.  These word and some others that I have published here and elsewhere and others that will never be published in my lifetime are part of my calling.  It is my small way of carrying my witness and testimony of the love of God and my love and gratitude for the Spirit and my love for all of humanity.  I still carry the message face to face from time to time though not as often as when I was in the street.

This is the one year journey and the cause for the one year celebration.

In a way I miss it.  I miss the satisfaction of speaking face to face of the Love of God.  I hope to continue it, but in the meantime I will continue to do what I can as I am told to do it from where I am.  I look forward to whatever the Spirit holds for me.  My faith can be weak at times but it grows stronger every day that I practice the Will of God.

More later . . . if that’s o.k. with you.

Michael (10)

Leave a Reply

