Fine Arts: Purposes in Cor Novus.

I am a big fan of Fine Arts.  A problem exists in what is and is not considered “Fine Arts.”  I am not a scholar, by any means, of Art in general or specifically, but consider myself firmly in the school of “I know what I like.”  I do however appreciate it, I believe, more than the average “Joe” or “Jane.”  To that end, I have listed a post category here at Cor Novus, for Fine Arts.  You may find posts for that category in the Category Drop Down List in the sidebar.  I have also linked a few sites in the toolbar to web pages on the web that I consider particularly interesting.

Lately I have not posted any articles on the subject as I have moved to topics more of religious, spiritual, and social issues–particularly dysfunctional personality and recovery issues.  You see, my major fields of study and interest focus on the social sciences and personal growth and spiritual/mental health.

But I do like to dabble in the Arts.

Let’s define the hard to define term “Fine Arts.”

Wind from the Sea Andrew Wyeth
Wind from the Sea
Andrew Wyeth

There is a vast prevailing assumption in the world throughout history that if a person appreciates the aesthetic appeal (sensual pleasure) of a particular thing then it is exclusively subjective and there is not only no need to define what art (good or bad) is, but indeed that it cannot be define at all.  I am partially of that view myself as mentioned above when I stated that “I know what I like,” and have no formal and only scant informal education on the subject of art, Fine or otherwise.

But I want to understand it better, even if I put it low on my priorities of things to study.  I think that to study it will help me to understand it better.  I’m not going to go crazy with it.  I just want a better definition of terms.

From Dictionary.com Fine Art is;

Chrysler Building NYC
Chrysler Building
NYC
a visual art considered to have been created primarily for aesthetic purposes and judged for its beauty and meaningfulness, specifically, painting, sculpture, drawing, watercolor, graphics, and architecture.
I find this as good a definition as I have found.  Too many attempts to illuminate include terms that are so subjective and broad as to wreck the intent to define.  Words such as “Beauty” and “Good” abound and distract from my understanding of “Fine Art” and “Art” in general.  If something must be “Beautiful” or “Good” to be considered ART then I am left asking what is “Beauty” and what is “Good.” Along that path we can become fatally lost from our goal to understand Art as Art.
Fro the above definition we can extract that Fine Art is,
  • Visual,
  • Created by humans
  • For aesthetic purposes, and
  • Judged for its beauty AND meaningfulness.

The forms it takes are,

  • Painting,
  • Sculpture,
  • Drawing,
  • Watercolor,
  • Graphics, and
  • Architecture.
St Patrick's Cathedral NYC
St Patrick’s Cathedral
NYC

Architecture can be both extremely aesthetically pleasing AND functional.  St.

Patrick’s Cathedral is both a beautiful example of American Gothic Revival style and a functioning Catholic cathedral.  The Chrysler Building in NYC is a great example of Art Deco and commercial office building in mid-town Manhattan.

I hope to expand my coverage of Fine Art in Cor Novus to include architecture, as I particularly enjoy this form of art.  If you keep an eye out here, you may see something here on the topic.  Currently all I have on the category is painting.  Keep coming back though, I hope to have something on the other forms soon.

 

5 thoughts on “Fine Arts: Purposes in Cor Novus.

    1. I noticed your appreciation for visual arts in the last post of yours to which I responded about the backlit tree. Thanks to you, that is what inspired me to resume posting on the category of Fine Arts which I covered more in the beginning of Cor Novus.

      Like

Leave a Reply

