The Beauty of Flowers: Part 2

In The Beauty of Flowers, I began what I thought was going to be a short essay on Objective Beauty, particularly in regards to one specific flowersproduct of nature.  That product Was NOT flowers!  Flowers were an analogy for the main subject.  Unfortunately, I got so carried away talking about flowers that I lost sight of my purpose and focus went out the window.

Who knew I was so passionate about flowers, eh?  *grin*  Anyway, this article is to finish what I started.

If you read The Beauty of Flowers (and I encourage you to do so), you will recall that I was speaking about Objective Beauty.  There are some things in nature that are beautiful in and of themselves.  Moral Relativists be damned, but there is such a thing as Absolute Truth and as John Keats tells us,

‘Beauty is truth, truth beauty,–that is all

Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know’

Ode on a Grecian Urn.  John Keats

I am talking about people–fellow Human Beings . . ..

In my opinion there is nothing in nature that lacks beauty.  Even the decay and rot of natural processes has beauty in a sense, if you look at it in a Keatsian sort of way–it is truth.  There is no attempt at deceit or subterfuge.  All you need do in some cases is hold your nose.

It is not so with people.  Sure there are some people that might be called “rotten.”  I have met more than few myself.  Let’s get that subject out of the way in the beginning.

hezi-hershkovitzAll people–rotten or evil as they might seem–are still people.  We were all created in the same way and possess the same essential genetic materials that qualifies us to be called Homo Sapiens.  Remember the Golden Rule, please.  If you don’t want judgement passed on you, then refrain from passing judgement on others of YOUR type, OK?  We all possess a spirit that is uniquely our own and at the same time made up of the same stuff that every other spirit on Earth (and in Heaven) is made.  Sure some spirits are corrupt and may seem to be evil.  But evil and good are not qualities that we possess in absolute quantities.  “Spirits” are made up of “stuff!?”  Sure they are.  Just because we can’t quantify it, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.  Who knew that there were such things as “germs” or even “atoms” once upon a time and not all that long ago?

So, physical beauty aside and aroma notwithstanding, people like flowers are all beautiful in the eyes of nature and truth itself.  Keats and I are in total agreement.  Some people like some flowers might appeal to you visually more than others and I am begging you to not go around sniffing people unless you know them VERY well and you are positive that they won’t mind.  Besides just being plain creepy, you could very well end up with a bloody nose or even arrested.  So Niles, stay away from Daphne’s hair, OK?

Now I think we’ve satisfied all the Humanists among us.  No mention has been made of God or any form He might take in a religious scheme.  Just 100417_rachel_prusynskistraight genetics and objective beauty and absolute truths so far.  Well, the HUMAN spirit was mentioned, but strictly secularly speaking.  The Atheists might quarrel with me on the point, but I believe I’ve got most of the Humanists still on board.  Now let’s go a step beyond and bring God into the discussion.

To God, all people are beautiful.  The Creator envisioned and set it up that way.  We are created in God’s image, and I don’t mean the literalistic, 6 consecutive 24 hour period of creation idea.  God doesn’t look like a person in anything like a physical sense.  God is a spirit–THE Spirit.  God’s creation of humans is in the spiritual sense.  We are create in God’s SPIRITUAL image.  If you think otherwise, then you aren’t thinking for yourself.

There are a few cliches that apply here.  One goes, “Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder.”  Another says, “Beauty is only Skin Deep.”  I’m not a fan of cliches, but they are nice for stating something simply.  I’m sure you have noticed, if you’ve lived past the age of puberty, that a whole of of visually attractive people become much less so once you get a glimpse into their souls.  Can I get a Witness?

Well, that’s about it for now.  I’ve been a very busy little blogger the past 12 hours or so.  I’ve put up a few new articles and was surprised by some minor Web Celebrity courtesy of Tribal Mystic and Amputated Digits.  I’m past the median for personal productive activity in here and want to take a break.  If my Muse will stop hectoring me from across the room . . .

M

One thought on “The Beauty of Flowers: Part 2

Leave a Reply

