Still Alice

article-0-1C4CBBB500000578-981_634x469

It has been several years since I have been to the movie theater to see a movie.  It has been a few years more since a movie has moved me to tears.  Still Alice was the current occasion for both.  I was feeling more than a little stir crazy yesterday so I invested some precious dollars and went out to enjoy two or three hours at the movies.

The only awards show I watch on television is the Academy Awards every spring.  This year Julianne Moore won Best Actress for Still AliceStill Alice is a dramatic story of a woman who develops Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease.  It is the story of her decline into the depths of this horrible family disease.

It is not Action/ Adventure.  It has no spectacular special effects.  It did not come out in IMAX or 3D.  It is simply a very moving human drama of one woman’s descent into Alzheimer’s and the toll it takes on both her and her family.  Co-starring as her husband is Alec Baldwin who I think they could have done a better job casting his role.  I think Baldwin is only marginally gifted as an actor.

I give the movie 4 1/2 stars out of 5.  It would have got 5 stars if they had cast someone better than Baldwin, which should have not been difficult at all.

I highly recommend it.  It is just as well-suited for a small screen as for a movie theater.  So you can wait for it to come out on DVD or Pay-Per-View.

But DO see it.  You will be glad you did.

4 thoughts on “Still Alice

  1. Nope, I can’t watch shows like that. Too close to where I am with the hubby and his dementia and I certainly don’t need anything that will make me cry.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If I want to cry my eyes out I need only allow my focus to shift. Falling apart is easy at this point in life it just isn’t productive so I don’t indulge myself much.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

