I Forgot Dylan Thomas

In my article Sundae with Nuts where I listed the influential poets in my life I forgot to include a poet who is most certainlly in the top five of poets who have influenced me the most.  That poet is the Welsh poet Dylan Thomas.  I first became familiar with Thomas when I had the part of the Welsh priest in Shakespeare’s play The Merry Wives of Windsor.  I wanted to learn how to speak with a Welsh accent, so I purchased a record album of Thomas reading his own works.  I fell in love with him on the spot.

Since I forgot to include him in the list, he gets an article all to himself.  It is the work for which he is best known: Do not go gentle into that good night.  It moves me deeply.  Here it is in its entirety.

Do not go gentle into that good night

Do not go gentle into that good night,darknight
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 

 

3 thoughts on “I Forgot Dylan Thomas

Leave a Reply

