Speaking of Lumber

Speaking of the position of lumber in Glory Begun has put me in mind of something along the same line.

In the past I have had dealings with more than one person in a position of respect within the field of Social Services, who have been obviously rspw18possessed of such large sticks of lumber lodged within body cavities that it most certainly should have created great discomfort.  I grant that such people sometimes seem not to mind any inconvenience that such an affliction might cause.  However I feel that it is not so much a matter of choice, as it is that they have probably just become so accustomed to the gross intrusion of lumber into their system that it has become a way of life.  Perhaps it can be compared to long-term victims of torture who have become inured to the pain and discomfort.

On more than one occasion, I have considered suggesting the services of a Colorectal Surgeon, but have refrained, not wishing to call attention to a potentially embarrassing condition.  I ignored the Elephant in the Room.

To be fair, the Social Services field is in no way the only career path that is vulnerable to this particular malady.  It is just the one with which I have most contact.

Sharing this information may be something for which you could not care less, but I appreciate you allowing me to do so.

It is minimally cathartic.

michael

11 thoughts on “Speaking of Lumber

  1. I know this blog is comedic but, I think there is some truth in it too. People working in social services are exposed to so much of the negative every single day that it becomes too much for them to handle and I think they go into zombie mode to avoid feeling it all. Human beings have an inner shut off that clicks into place when they’re faced with too much pain, it keeps them from going insane.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

