Chasing Game

I don’t chase game any more.

Here’s why.

4011378891_7dd40b35b2_bAt my age if the only game I am interested in allows me to approach closely on foot, there is better than an even chance that it will run away.  It might dash off completely or it might just hop a short distance as though to taunt my intent.  I don’t chase that good anymore.  I tire easily of foolish Game games.

Besides, I have found from years of experience that the allure of Game is FAR greater than the joy of actually having it.  Believe me, Young Hunter, it’s true.  The thrill of the Hunt is not what it is cracked up to be.  Many hunters have captured their prey only to discover that it is actually an unpalatable creature and almost impossible to legally shed. The possible misery is nearly unimaginable.

Here’s my solution

If the game wants to be caught it can come to me.  On close inspection, if I think it is suitable for my table, I will take it home.  If none comes to me and the urge for Game meat becomes great I can watch a nature documentary and imagine that I am once again the Great Hunter.  If even that is not enough, I can always go down to the Market and purchase a few pounds.

By the way, the only Game in which I am interested is illegal to trap or shoot.

Thanks for allowing me to share.

M

2 thoughts on “Chasing Game

Leave a Reply

